Government of Canada Announces 2012 ENERGY STAR® Winners

Posted 2012-06-07
Written by
Category EEIP

OTTAWA —David Anderson, Parliamentary Secretary to the Honourable Joe Oliver, Minister of Natural Resources, today announced the winners of the 2012 ENERGY STAR Market Transformation Awards. These awards recognize leadership in promoting energy efficiency in Canada and are presented to utility providers, manufacturers, retailers, advocates and home builders who have shown leadership and commitment in manufacturing, marketing and promoting energy efficient products. This year, twelve organizations in thirteen categories were recognized for their excellence in advancing the ENERGY STAR brand in Canada. 

“Since its introduction, industry and government have worked together to promote the benefits of the ENERGY STAR initiative to Canadians,” said Mr. Anderson. “This year’s awards recipients are being recognized for their exceptional contributions.” 

The ENERGY STAR label encourages Canadian consumers to purchase the most energy-efficient products, technologies and services on the market. This label is displayed on 60 product types, including home electronics, major appliances, lighting, windows and doors, office equipment, commercial equipment, and heating, ventilating and air conditioning equipment. Currently, more than 1,100 organizations and 800 home builders participate in the ENERGY STAR initiative.

Award Winners:

Reid’s Heritage Homes—New Homes Participant of the Year

Whirlpool Canada LP—Manufacturer of the Year

JELD-WEN of Canada—Manufacturer of the Year – Fenestration Products

HABCO Beverage Systems Inc—Manufacturer of the Year – Commercial Products

Sears Canada Inc.—Retailer of the Year

Hydro-Québec—Utility of the Year – Provincial

Hydro-Québec—Promotional Campaign of the Year

FortisBC Inc.—Utility of the Year – Regional

All Weather Windows Ltd.—Participant of the Year

Vinyl Window Designs Ltd.—Advocate of the Year – Specific Product

Toronto Community Housing—Advocate of the Year – Multiple Products

Samsung Electronics Canada Inc.—Collaborative Initiative of the Year

The Home Depot Canada—Sustained Excellence

For a complete description of each winner’s achievements, visit Natural Resources Canada’s Office of Energy Efficiency Web site.